Pretty please! With pink icing on top!

Day/title 53

Bibliographic Information:

Voices on the River: The Story of the Mississippi Waterways

Walter Havighurst

MacMillan, 1964

Summary:

Surveys the Mississippi’s importance over three centuries as a transportation system and contribution to the heartland of American frontier life.

My reaction:

This book was obviously written before it became common knowledge that human beings have the attention span of a gnats toenail clipping–at least the new millennium human being does.  I mean the author goes on and on! There’s huge, looming chunks of text! No bullet points?! No pages of illustrations and/or PowerPoint flow chart screen shots (shout out to Jeniffer Egan, A Visit from the Goon Squad author)!?  Shoulda known he’d be long winded with a name like Walter Havighurst; he’s all ‘Battle of Tippecanoe’ this and ‘Captain Dickie Hiernaux’ that.  I swear all of the names in the book are a mouthful and I’d just rather chew on something else right now. Where’s my Dunkin Donuts coupon?

But honestly.  I read a couple of paragraphs and it does have a sprawling, adventurous feel to it.  Now if he’d just write a screen play and do a film adaptation I’m all in.

I actually hate sprinkles but the quintessential donut image always has them.

PS– I want to shake it up a bit.  Because I do a lottery to get my call numbers I’m only able to get  non-fiction titles–because those are comprised of 3-7 numbers and a name/descriptor.  But I’m feigning for some fiction, some novels.  The ‘call numbers’ for novels are generally just the author’s last name.  I need to invent a way to do a lottery of sorts for pulling names.  I need a way to randomly select names so that I can go hunt down books by those (hopefully, fingers crossed, please let them be) authors. Make sense? Any suggestions?

2 thoughts on “Pretty please! With pink icing on top!

  1. I assume the fictions novels are in alphabetical order by last name. If you use Random.org and generate a number then go to that corresponding aurthor. Maybe…a little more work, but could work?

Leave a Reply

