The examined life. Through a pop culture lens (of course)

Because I want my life to be worth living, I will get to examining.  I don’t know if this is what Socrates had in mind but I’m pretty certain rigor has set in, so whats he gonna do about it?  No really, I have a lot of respect for Socrates.  He strikes me as brilliant but humble.  If I was alive back then, I’d probably subscribe to his blog.  And you know he’d be blogging.

So as I was saying, his idea of examination might include pouring over volumes written by Plato or Aristotle, visiting a monastery, watching grass grow or something that would require 2 qualities that have become antiquated in this digital/rock and roll/overly stimulated culture of ours—patience and an attention span.

I fancy myself a thinking gal.  Here are a few epiphanies that I arrived at regarding this blessed box-o-chocolates called life.

Sometimes life is like a round of Angry Birds,  you change your trajectory to one that seems like a long shot and that’s when you hit your target.

Sometimes life is like LOST,  you pay close attention and take good notes and in the end you still don’t get it.

Sometimes life is like Edward Cullen, cold and kinda weird looking but everyone else seems to love everything about it so you play along too.  (THE POWER that be knows I love life!  These are part epiphany, part jokey joke 😀  But Edward is funny looking.)

Sometimes life is like Kate Middleton and Price Edward’s wedding,  blah, blah, blah punctuated with bits of sweetness and hilarity.

Sometimes life is like the inevitable direction of the Kardashian/Humphries relationship, predictable.

Sometimes life is like Dancing With the Stars, and the meek (read: underdogs) inherit the earth—or the mirror ball trophy as it were.

Well Socrates, how’d I do? He may not be able to write a blog but maybe,  just maybe he can read one?

Anyone else care to philosophize on what life is like?

life is: sweet, crunchy, colorful, stale, boxed in...

4 thoughts on “The examined life. Through a pop culture lens (of course)

  1. What Socrates really liked to do was to hang out in the Agora or market place asking questions. When people tried to answer his questions, he would then ask further questions in order to show people that what they thought they knew didn’t really make any sense.
    If you think about how much rich and powerful people like to be shown that the don’t really know much of anything, you can get an idea of why he was forced to commit suicide by drinking hemlock.
    (He probably drove his wife crazy too. He was supposed to be a stone mason by trade, but he never seemed to spend much of his time actually doing any work).
    This being the case, I’m not sure Socrates would write a blog himself, I think it’s more likely that e’d visit other people’s blogs and leave comments on them.
    (Plato and Aristotle would definitely have been bloggers, however)

Leave a Reply

